Monday, December 5, 2011

One Year

It hurts to think about what we went through, what we are still going through, and for what lies ahead.
I sometimes try to find the humor in the situation just to get through those moments, you know the one that stings and tears start to fill up and really you just don’t feel like going through all that again.  Just when you think have you have no more tears left to cry, somehow they find a way to break through.

Its hard not to think of what you would have been.

I prayed for you constantly to be healthy, but no matter how many prayers were for you, it just wasn’t part of His plan for us to raise you here on this Earth.

I have to accept that.

But today, when my arms are empty, they long for your tenderness, your warmth, and for the joy I know you would have brought into our lives.
As I look at pictures of my adorable nieces and nephews it hits me on what I’m missing out on… with you.

I know I can’t dwell on the what if’s, but today I can because one year ago you changed my life.  
I can’t forget that.

And tomorrow… well, tomorrow is a new day and I will smile tomorrow.

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Reflection

I feel like I have lost all sense of time.  It was probably a week before Thanksgiving I started weeping some private tears for no apparent reason at all.  I didn’t understand, I was content and happy, so it didn’t make sense.  And yes I have to add, throughout this year there has been happy times. 

Yes, there are good days.

It’s hard to remember that when it seems that I only post when I’m hurting or going through a rough time, I really need to write more when  life is good.  It’s a new goal for me for the New Year, but for now I’ll excuse myself because it still is only the first year and I am still coping, dealing.  And that’s ok.  There is no exact timeline for grief. 

Anyway, back to my weepiness.  I didn’t realize what the tears were for until someone had mentioned that Thanksgiving was coming up, so I looked at the calendar and in complete shock Thanksgiving was a week away!  I am telling you, I was in utter disbelief.  Where did this year ago?  And then it dawned on me, a year ago this time, I was pregnant.  Thanksgiving last year, yeah, pregnant.  The following Monday after Thanksgiving I found out I was pregnant.  That day I told my husband and it was the happiest moment I can remember.  Pure complete joy.  That week I was on cloud 9.  I felt like I was on top of the universe.  And then as quickly as the joy appeared, it vanished quicker than I could blink.  It’s true when they say, “Your life can change in a second.” 

So as you can see these past couple of weeks have been tougher than I could have imagined.  Relieving the emotions of one year ago has been a lot tougher than the due date, which is what I dreaded.  Maybe because this is tangible.  It happened.  Then it dawned on me. 

It’s been almost a year and I am still alive.

This didn’t kill me.

In fact, quite the opposite, it’s made me a stronger person.  I have learned more about myself this year than I have ever in my entire life.  I am closer to God now than I have ever been before.  I have learned that I have no control in anything in  my life, therefore I have no other option but to rely on the true essence of faith.  In the end, it’s all about perspective. I can look back on this year as the hardest year of my life or the most rewarding year of my life.  I choose the latter. 

"When something bad happens, you have three choices.
You can let it define you, let it destroy you or let it strengthen you".

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Finding peace in the journey


This summer I learned a lot of things about myself and the infertility journey.  
The biggest one occurred during a time I least expected.

August 4, 2011.

I dreaded this day. 

It would have been my due date.

I had no idea how I would be this day.  I honestly just thought I would be a wreck. 

That day came.  And not only did I grieve the loss of our baby, but I grieved the loss of my grandmother who raised me.  She passed away the week before and I had to fly out of state to plan her entire funeral.  I hadn’t let myself grieve for her because I was so focused on planning thee perfect funeral, so when I finally could it happened to be the same time our baby was due.

I was not a wreck.

I cried and grieved and was sad like a normal person would.
I felt some very strong emotions, but the following Sunday was fast Sunday and these very strong emotions got the best of me (or it was the Spirit). It made me go up and bear my testimony. And folks, this is a big deal.  I don’t do that.  I hate to admit that the last time I bore my testimony was 13 years ago!  I know that’s bad, but this is completely beside the point.  As I sat down after bearing my testimony this overwhelming sense of peace came over me.  Something I had not felt since that day I had surgery.

The peace I felt was so strong.
So overwhelming
and
so unexpected.

I realized that God does have a plan for me.  That it really did work out.  My goal was to have a baby before my grandmother passed away so she could see our baby, hold our baby, love our baby.  If it was a girl we were going to name it after her.  I desperately wanted that more than anything.  When I found out that I was pregnant in November I just knew that my baby had made it in time to meet my grandma.  My grandma wasn’t sick, but she wasn’t getting any younger either.  When I had loss the baby and then heard I could no longer have kids I knew that my dream of her meeting our child would not happen. 

Then she passed away a week before my due date and I realized 
she did get to meet our baby.
She got to meet our baby even before we did.
She gets to hold our baby.
Love our baby.
Take care of our baby until it’s our turn to reunite.

And the thought of her holding hands with our baby and never leaving his or her 
side brings me so much comfort.  
This thought brought me the peace I so needed. 

One day the Lord will reveal all things.
(D&C 101: 32-36)

God does have a plan for each and every one of us.
We just have to have the faith to do His will.

You will find peace too.

No matter what trial you are going through, whatever journey you are on, 
I know that everyone needs peace.  It will come. 
It does not mean that your trials will no longer hurt you or make you sad, it simply means you KNOW everything will work out in the end. Remember that if it doesn’t it’s not the end.

**Editor’s note: I wrote this post June 20,2011, but for some unknown reason it was in my draft folders.  Silly me I must have left my brain somewhere else this past summer.  Anyway, after re-reading it I decided I should hit publish.**

Excuse my hiatus

It’s me again.  
Yes, I am still alive.  
I know I have been quiet, but I needed some time to think.  
And that’s exactly what I did. 

I have been trying to find myself again; trying to find what it really means to lose the dream of being a Mother in my prior definition of motherhood. 

I have been trying to accept the things which I cannot control.

I have been trying to wipe away the thoughts of wondering what it would be like right now if I was still pregnant.  I would be almost 8 months along…

I am still dealing with all the stages of grief.  I wish I could say that time has helped, but what I did not know was that school was a REALLY good distraction and now that I am out, the sadness has increased.

The anger, the guilt, the blame, the sadness…still there.  Not everyday, but enough to know life is unfair and I wish I wasn’t going through this.

But on my journey to find peace, I know one thing for sure and that God hasn’t left me.  
He is still by my side.  He has a plan for me.  And that plan gives me HOPE. 
He has a plan for you, too.
 I know everyone has their trials and some days it is rough, but we’ll get through it. 

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh


That’s how I felt at church today.

For some reason going to church is a reminder that I can’t have kids.  Maybe because there are so many pregnant ladies at church or maybe because that is where we have been drilled in our heads that we must replenish and multiply the Earth.  As much as I have been doing much better with the idea of me not being able to have kids, there is still a wave a hurt that hits me when people talk about pregnancy or announce their pregnancy.  I know it is big part of life, so it is a subject that is hard not to be spoken of in church, but today was worse than others.

It seemed like there were so many people who announced pregnancies today.  It seemed like that was what everyone talked about.  And in relief society there was cheering and clapping when someone shared that they were pregnant.  Don’t get me wrong, I am at a point where I am truly happy for people.  It is a happy time and people deserve to enjoy it.  I can’t blame someone for not knowing what it is like to be on the other side.  I would certainly hope that one day if I do get to have a miracle and get pregnant that people would be happy for me.  But it’s the wave of hurt knowing I can’t experience that.  It’s the feeling like an outcast.  I wonder if I will ever get the chance to be that excited and share my pregnancy news.  Then I think if I adopt, will people be just as excited for me? Will it be similar to having my own baby or will people react differently because it’s not the same as having my own child? 

In those moments like today, I don’t know how to react.  I am excited and happy for those who are beaming with pregnancy glow, but at the same time I am fighting back tears.  It’s an awkward and lonely spot to be in.  But I know I am not alone. I know that these feelings are normal and that one day I will be a mom.  And for now, I am just glad to have HOPE again.

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Love this poem*

LIFE…

Life is full of unexpected changes.
It’s not always fair.
Keep your faith high to avoid feeling 
too low and defeated.
Who ever is around you, influences you.
What ever thoughts you think about, define you.
What ever feelings you have the most, control you.

If you want to have more success, peace and progress inyour life, you can start right now…

Whatever challenges you face, God will show you His grace
Whatever you start…finish it.
Whatever you promise…deliver it.
Whomever you love…show it.
Whatever you pray…believe it.
Whatever you earn…save some of it.
Whenever you fall…get back up.
Whatever you do…do it with quality and enthusiasm.
Whatever you have…be grateful for it.
Whatever you want…work for it.
Whatever you lose…get over it.

Personal storms and bad weather 
happen in everyone’s life.
It is not during the calm waters that a sailor learns how to master the sea.
It is during the storm that he learns his skills.
And so it is with your faith.
It will be tested and you can only learn how to use it during the difficult times…
not when life is smooth and comfortable.

-unknown

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Waiting: My thoughts on adoption today*

There are only a few times in my life that I have felt the Spirit so strongly.  One vivid account was when I was told that we needed to move to Cambodia.   I still have no idea why that was.

As far as adoption goes, I have always felt we needed to adopt.  I just didn’t know that we would have to adopt.

But, nevertheless, I have felt the Spirit so strongly tell me throughout my life that adoption was part of our plan and again, shortly after having surgery and being told we couldn’t have children.

I am overwhelmed with emotion each time I think of the day that our child’s birthparents choose us; acknowledging that we are indeed the child’s parent’s. 

I am overwhelmed to know that there will be a beautifully long emotional, painful, and joyful story that will come with finding our child.

I am overwhelmed to think that our child may already be waiting for us and we don’t know it.

Or maybe he or she is still waiting in heaven.

I am overwhelmed to know that someone’s excruciating pain will be my dream true.

I am overcomed with emotion to think of the day when my husband and I will go to the temple, in all of its sacredness and beauty, to bring our child there to be sealed to us for all time and eternity.

I am so anxious for us to meet the rest of our family.

So why then is he telling me to wait?

He says,

“My child, I have given you the answers of what you must do.  It is not time yet.  
You must wait.”

To which I say,

“But Heavenly Father, we have waited for sooooooo long.  We’ve been married for 6 ½ years and we have been making plans about starting our family, even before we were married.  We’ve dreamt of this day.  We tried for so long.  Months of months of negative pregnancy tests, to finally get a positive (!), only to have it bring upon devastation.  We so desperately want to start our family.  We want to fill that gap that has been missing in our family for what seems like it has been there for longer than I can bear.  We want to move towards completing our family.”

He responds,

“You are a child of God.  And as child on Earth, you simply cannot understand everything I know, which includes my timing.  Like a child you will not be able to understand why things must be done this way.  It wouldn’t make sense and it may not even be fully revealed to you until you return back to me.  Have faith in knowing I have a plan for you.  Wait.”


Waiting is part of the process of becoming what God wants us to be.
-Unknown


So I am waiting.  
And waiting.

Friday, March 4, 2011

This Weekend

What is wrong with me? 

I have been fighting back tears all day.  My eyes fill up with tears as I am driving, studying, volunteering, cooking, cleaning, getting ready, shopping.  Enough already.  People are looking at me as if I am crazy.  And I do feel crazy because I have been a lot better.  At least I think I have made some progress in the grieving department.  It is like a freaking rollercoaster ride that never ends.  The hardest part is that the only thing I can think of that explains this downhill ride is that my youngest brother-in-law is getting married tomorrow.  I chose to not go to the wedding because I knew how emotional it would be for me to see family for the first time since losing the pregnancy.  I was so torn about not going because I really like the girl he is marrying and felt I should be there to support them on their big day, but in the end I realized it would how reversed all of the progress I have made emotionally.  I just can’t go back to the despair that I was in.  I don’t ever want to go back to that ugly dark place again.  I know that I had to do what was best for me and I made the right decision, especially now that I am tearing up at everything and anything.

I should be happy for them, right?  I am happy that he has found a great girl to marry, but I can’t help but think life is so so so unfair.  (I am aware that I sound like a 5 year old throwing a temper tantrum.)

When I found out I was pregnant, I knew he had started dating someone and intuition told me that he was going to marry her.  In my mind I was so relieved I had gotten pregnant and felt like according to my life plan things were working out perfectly.  I would definitely have kids before my youngest brother-in-law would.  It was only fair.  It was only right.  That was the plan.  But then the same weekend I lost the baby and found out we couldn’t have kids, he got engaged to his girlfriend, and as I was trying to process the events all I could think of is how he will probably have a child before we are ready or able to even adopt.  I can’t help but think of how painful that day will be to know that their happiness of starting their family will be extremely devastating to me.  It’s like a sword through my heart every time I think of it.

Tomorrow is his day.  I know he has waited a long time to find the one and I should be happy for him, but for me it is symbolic of how life is so unfair. I know this shouldn’t be about me and I can’t believe I am writing this, but if someone can relate to this and it helps them then it was worth writing.

I am a bad person for feeling this way.  I know.  But I can’t help it.

So, blogworld friends, any advice on getting over this?  (I still have tomorrow and Sunday to deal with this!)

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Bugged

I am no where ready to be okay with adoption.  The idea of accepting that you may never have your own biological children because you are adopting is so overwhelming.  To make that transition into “I can’t have my own children”, so now we are “going to adopt” is extremely difficult.  I don’t think people realize this shift that we have go through mentally and emotionally.  One day I know I will get there and the thought of adopting often times excites me, but the meaning of it right now is different to me and I am just simply not at the stage where I am ready to adopt.

With that being said, now that I am returning into the real world (and not hiding out at school and home) people are starting to find out that we are infertile and that in the future we plan on adopting.  I know that people don’t want to talk about it with us because they don’t know what to say or they don’t want to say the wrong thing or they think we don’t want to talk about it.  This is all awkward.  I don’t mind talking about it, in fact I want to talk about it.  So far, I have had quite a few people that have opened up my eyes as to how much they do understand based on friends or family who have been through this or because they are infertile themselves or because they have worked with adoptions in the past.  Of course, no one can truly understand unless they are going through it themselves, but for the most part it is nice to know that they have an idea of the pain I am going through. 

I think the best thing you can do when you know someone who is infertile is to acknowledge their pain, (no matter how long it is they have been dealing with it).  Maybe they don’t show their pain and they look okay on the outside, but trust me if your infertile there is pain.  Real gut-wrenching pain.  You don’t have to try to cheer them up, all they want is acknowledgement and someone to talk to.  At least it is that way for me (maybe I shouldn’t refer to all infertiles in this).
    
The worst thing you can do is blow off their pain.  Here are some examples of what people have said about us adopting that really bug me:

Your adopting!  That is so great!  I wish we could adopt.” (Really?  You wish you could adopt? Guess what?  You can adopt AND you can have your own biological children.  The only reason you aren’t adopting is because you CAN and HAVE your own biological children, so why would you?  We can’t, this is our only option.)

“Your adopting!  That is a great thing!  You shouldn’t be sad, that is happy news!”  (The way they say that “it is a great thing” is making it sound like you are doing charity work by adopting.  Yeah this offends me because it is extremely sacred, by no way is it charity.  And I shouldn’t be sad?  Do you know what it does to person when they are told that it will take a miracle to have your own biological children?  A MIRACLE!!  The doctor wouldn’t even say that we have a 1% chance of having our own kids, instead she used the term a miracle, which to me is even less than a 1% chance.  Do you have any idea what pain is involved with being told that the main reason you were placed on this Earth is to procreate and your body physically can’t do it?  Do you have any idea of the grief that is involved as an individual, as a women, as a married couple to realize your biggest dream has been ripped away from you?  Do you have any idea how emotional the process of adoption is?  Someone picks you for their child they carried for 9 months, as you sit and wait and wait and wait to picked.  It could be 1 month or it could be 10 years.  Your trying so hard to live your life, but at the same time waiting.)

Okay, I am done venting. 

(I know that it seems like an angry post, but believe it or not I am actually in good mood today.)

I feel better.

Blogging is great.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

I did it...

I went to my ward and stayed the whole sacrament meeting.  I sat in the back and initially, I thought it wasn't so bad, but then sacrament was passed out and there was silence.  Then the cute little kids in the pews in front me were being too darn cute, and I became envious and hurt and the tears just came.  I wanted to walk out.  I get embarrassed when I cry, but I made myself stay.  I knew this was something I had to do.  I had been feeling like I needed to go back to my ward and face it.  I needed to face all the pregnant couples, the babies, the people that know about what happened, but I don't know they know, the being different from all of them, and the uncomfortable feeling as if there is an elephant in the room. The past few months, I have been hopping from ward to ward so that I could take sacrament and go to church, but that has made me feel even more alone.  But no more.

I did it.  And now I am proud of myself for doing it.  This was a really huge step for me and slowly it has been getting better.  It hasn't been any easier, but now at least there is some sense of peace in knowing that I am dealing with it, I am overcoming my fears and trials, and I WILL BE okay.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Infertility Steps

One thing I have learned about infertility so far is that you literally have to take it one hour at a time. 
Today was a good example of that.  I had a good morning and afternoon, despite shelling out a gazillon dollars to fix our car.  I have been feeling a little more normal this week.  But then this evening as I was looking over my calendar I realized that tomorrow I have an OB/GYN appointment to follow up on my surgery, discuss endometriosis, talk about birth control, talk about infertility, etc….. 
Then that stupid sharp pain in my heart came again, so I quickly got busy and I was okay, but then I ran errands.  In the car I found myself with tears falling down my face.  Oh those ugly wet things, I wish they would go away!  And once I got to the store, I pulled myself together and went in and pretended to be okay. 
Inside the store (Target), I walked past the little girl’s clothing department, and normally, I would smile and say, “Oh how cute!” but this time I fought back tears and walked like a zombie through the store, not knowing why the heck I was even there.   
Oh yeah, I had to buy feminine napkins.  That’s why I was there.  And as I was standing there trying to figure out the coupons for it, I got pissed that I even had to buy them.  I am supposed to be pregnant right now, gosh darn it!  I shouldn’t need these for 6 more months!
Then the BIG hurt.  The pregnancy tests are on the same aisle as the feminine napkins and I longingly looked down the aisle at them and I see a couple approach, obviously very excited.  They looked for a minute, grabbed a pregnancy test, and walked away smiling. Sign.
I know.  This is a depressing post.  Sorry, but I know I am not the only one. 
And I feel a lot better now that it is written. 
Okay, that’s it, I’m out.

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Marriage

I thought I would put in my two sense on the effects of infertility on marriage.  I have been really pondering this subject and have been glad to see other blogs have had the same thought as me.  It's as if we are all on the same page!  I think I have a unique perspective which I will share in the 2nd part, but my 1st part is probably not new and something we've all figured out which is men react differently to coping then us women.

Part 1:

Although, this infertility thing is new to me, I will say that no matter how supportive (and let me note my hubby is VERY supportive) your husband is, infertilty causes a strain on a marriage.  My husband got over the grief in a matter days, no strike that, hours after the surgery.  Or so it seemed.  He said that he coped in his own way (aka hunting).  But because he wasn't sad or crying over it like I was, I thought it wasn't as a big deal to him as it was for me.  He didn't want to talk about it, to relive those feelings.  He would listen to me, but he didn't grieve with me.  Later on I realized that just because he wasn't coping or grieving the way I expected him or wanted him to cope or grieve didn't mean that he wasn't coping, grieving, and hurting.  Even knowing this, almost two months later I still find it hard not to be frustrated at times, that as I cry every day, he seems to be okay.  But then I remember this:

Part 2

I chose him to be my husband and because of that we will get through this.  Together.  Let me explain why this is HUGE people!  My ethnic background is Cambodian.  My dear Mother endured horrific tragedies in order to escape out of the Vietnam War and come to America.  Her trials are extraordinary, far worse than any trials I have gone through or hope to go through.  When she got here, she was 19, her family was poor, and the custom back then was to have an arranged marriage. In order for her family to survive, her mother (my grandmother), made an arrangement for her to be married to the first suitor who could provide a specific monetary amount.  My dear father, had seen my mother, fell in love with her and was determined to marry her.  He was, too, poor, and might I add the only adopted son in a family of 9 kids.  There was several suitors, but my father was the first to come up with the money. So, to make a long story short, my parents were married.  My mom at 19 was married to someone she barely knew and was over a decade older than her.  I never realized the meaning of this until a few years after I had been married.  To love someone and to be in with love someone are two different things.  Having a choice to who you marry is something I think we Americans forget and take for granted.  I can not imagine the emotions that go along with an arranged marriage for both sides.  My guess is there not many support groups for this or blogs on this subject.  I may be wrong, but it is not something you hear about often and I know how lonely it feels to be infertile, but I can't imagine going through this with someone I did not choose to go through this with. My parents are extremely good people and I know now they love each other.  And it all works out, trust me, one of the most beautiful moments I have ever witnessed is their sealing in the temple 3 years ago.  Tomorrow, is their anniversary, they will have been married for 28 years. I love them dearly and hope through their story you have learned that no matter how rough it gets in your marriage, remember that it was your choice, YOU chose that man to be your husband.  Don't take that for granted.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Grief

As you probably noticed in my prior post I have been desperately wishing for this grief process to be over. 

I KNOW that everything will be okay, but I have struggled with the fact that if I know this, then why am I still so sad, so emotional, and dare I say it, in dispair? 

I found out this answer today after discussing this with my grief counselor.  (For those of you struggling with ANYTHING, I am a huge advocate of seeking help, namely from a trained counselor, therapist, or physciatrist.  There is no shame in asking for help.)

So the answer is:

Grief will take longer than most people think it will.

Grief will take more energy than a person ever imagined.

I know this is pretty simple and duh statements, but my counselor went on to relate it with this analogy that really made a whole lot of sense:

If you broke your arm and your arm was healing, would you be able to make your arm heal any quicker?  No.  You would have to let it heal naturally and then eventually, go through physical therapy in order to have your arm back to normal conditions. If you didn't your arm may hurt worse or hurt for a longer period of time or never completely heal.  This is the same for grief.  You can't hurry up the process.  You have to allow yourself to heal naturally and go through all of the stages and emotions of grief.  If you don't you will still continue to be broken and prolong the process.  This does not mean that later on the road you will not cry or feel sad because of infertility. Just remember that grieving, healing, and coping are all different.  If you try to quicken the healing process just to "get over it" you are just hurting yourself, so please allow yourselves to feel the pain.  I know it is hard. Just know that I pray for all of you who are hurting.

Saturday, January 22, 2011

Dixie Chicks "So Hard"


It helps to know you aren't the only one. This song really lifted me up today.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

It is still rough...

Yesterday I started my first full-time semester in college. I was nervous since I had gotten my associates degree online.  I wasn't sure if I was ready, especially with still grieving and crying practically every day.  I thought it would help keep my mind off of things, but nope.  I had signed up for institute with my favorite instructor and as soon as we started to sing the hymn I started crying.  I sat in the back so no one noticed and I was able to keep the tears from continuing to flow for the rest of the hour, but after class I sat down with my instructor and told him what was going on and bursted into tears.  I was really embarrased.  I really hate crying in front of people.  I don't know why I thought the darkness I was in would suddenly disappear because I was busy with school.  I didn't realize that dealing with infertility you have to take it one hour at a time.  There are moments when I am fine and sometimes even filled with some hope, but then somehow a darkness creeps in and brings me down.  At this point I am so sick of being sad.  I am sick of one moment being fine and the next being a mess.  It's embarassing.  It's draining.  Every one says things will get better as time passes.  So far it hasn't happened. 

Adoption Meeting*

Originally posted Saturday, January 8, 2011.

And the adoption emotional rollercoaster begins:

We met with out adoption caseworker on Thursday and I have been trying to digest it ever since.  I thought I would be just as excited as the day before when I got the phone call saying that our meeting got bumped up, but instead I left the meeting dazed and overwhelmed.

As I sit here and stare at the pile of paperwork we need to fill out in order to just "pre-qualify" I am deeply saddened at the symbolism of it all.  At this moment this is how I feel:

Bringing a child into this world is the most sacred and precious event any two people can do.  From the beginning of time, we have been commanded to multiply and replenish the Earth.  And as women, we have been naturally instilled that one day we will get pregnant and have children.  It is our duty and a beautiful gift that Heavenly Father has entrusted us with.  What could be more sacred than conceiving a child and having it grow inside you for safe keeping until he/she is ready to brought into this world?  You and their Father essentially gave life.  Can you think of anything more sacred than that? 

To sit here and have to complete paperwork so that I may be come a Mother and Jake a Father, indeed is very unnatural, but sometimes a necessary means and a different way in starting a family.  Please don't take this as me downplaying adoption.  I love adoption.  I believe that every adoption is a miracle and that it is beautiful.  I know that in it's own way it holds a different ora of sacredness.  It is just right now, I am deeply saddened that the sacredness of becoming a Mother naturally is taken away by the task of paperwork.  How is it fair that someone else gets to decide that we are worthy to be parents?  How is it fair that the fate of us being called Mom and Dad is in the hands of someone else?  I understand that if I were a birthmother I would want all of the steps taken to ensure that I was placing my child in a good home.  I get that.  But in my shoes I am hurt that a drug addict can have a baby without consulting anyone and we can't without doing paperwork and being studied to see if we are fit parents. 

My heart aches as Jake and I have begun to realize that we may actually never have our own biological child.  I can not begin to explain the hurt that resignates knowing that we may not get to experience the 9 months of watching my stomach grow or ever having a child that looks or acts like us.  I didn't want to give up hope, but with adopting it makes the situation even more real that I cannot have what others can.  And hope may one day lead to disappointment.  I still know in my heart that our baby is waiting for us to one day adopt him or her.  I know that in the end this will be all be worth it.  My eyes well up with tears whenever I think about how one day we will be sealed in the temple with our child and I will know that that pile of paperwork and the adoption process is just a minor speedbump in the road.  Everything is going to be okay.

I am so excited!!*

Originally posted Janaury 5, 2011.

Where do I begin?  I wish all of you could feel what I am feeling right now.  I am not making any sense.  This would have made more sense if had been blogging my thoughts this whole time, but I haven't so now I am just babbling.  Okay, compose yourself, Lana.

So today started off as a sad day for me.  For some reason, EVERYTHING was reminding of what happened last month and I kept getting choked up throughout the day.  Luckily, Jake's work day ended fairly early and he came home and surprised me with a very deserving Wild Cherry Pepsi. (I haven't had caffine in over a year and have been really craving it!) Anyway, it was nice to talk to him and just explain my sadness to someone.  Afterwards, I was able to pull myself together enough to start doing household chores and my phone rang.  It wasn't a number I recognized, which normally I don't answer, but for some reason I just did.  It was LDS Family Services calling to speak to me about an adoption orientation that I had signed up for.  First, let me explain that I had been inquiring about the adoption process and was told that I could set up an appointment to meet with someone one on one to talk to about adoption.  So I went at the end of December to LDSFS to try to set up an appointment, but the secretary there said that they have one meeting a month which they call their "orientation" which she could sign me up for.  It was set for January 20th. I was disappointed that we couldn't meet with someone earlier and tried to ask for paperwork, so we could get the process started, but she insisted that we had to go to this meeting.  I can't explain the urgency I have for getting this done quickly, and I am not very aggressive at trying to get what I want, so I dropped it and signed up for the orientation. 

Soooo, now on to 5 minutes ago.  I thought the lady from LDSFS was calling to confirm our attendance for the 20th, but she actually called to say that the orientation was cancelled and that an adoption counselor could meet with us one on one!  (Which is what I preferred because I am not much of a group person.)  And guess when?  TOMORROW!!!!  I know that it is just an informational meeting, but I am soooo excited to get this started.  It feels so right!  As I was speaking to the lady I felt the spirit so strongly telling me that "everything is going to work out".   Oh how I needed that!

I know this may seem all of a sudden and as if we are moving very quickly, but I assure you that I know that we are suppose to adopt.  I recieved confirmation a few days after having surgery and trust me when I say that as I was praying this was not the answer I had been looking for during that prayer.  (I will get more into that story later.) 
I know in my heart that Heavenly Father's plan for us is to adopt. 

Is there a euphemism for infertility?*

Originally posted on Wednesday, December 22, 2010.

Tonight is not a good night.  It is one of those nights where I just want to throw things, yell, and ugly cry.  This is actually the first time I have felt this way over our loss.  Up until now, I think I have been handling/coping with all this better than I thought I would.  I didn’t think that this would be my reaction after my doctor’s appointment today.  This was the first time I have talked to my surgeon since I had surgery and as she walked into the room and said that she wanted to discuss my infertility plans with me I almost lost it.  Infertility.
To hear it from a doctor made it real.  Of course, deep down inside I knew what was going on was infertility, but I didn’t want to admit it because in my mind I still have been hoping that one day I’ll be able to conceive a healthy baby.  That’s what has made these past two weeks bearable.  As I sat there in the doctor’s office listening to her talk about in vitro and endometriosis, I felt like I was living in the scene of one of those bad Lifetime made-for-TV movies.   As I was choking back tears and trying to swallow the lump that had formed in the back of my throat I thought to myself: Is this really happening? Am I really infertile? Why me?  The more she spoke, the more my hopes of one day bringing a little Jake or little Lana into this world was dimming.  She described how there was no cure for endometriosis and that the growth could be controlled only through birth control, but if I was going to continue to “try” or do in vitro, we couldn’t go that route.  She said that since she removed quite a bit of the endometriosis that although we have a very slim chance of conceiving, that if we do want to the prime opportunity would be to do it now, or sooner than later because since we aren’t doing anything to control the endometriosis, it could come back stronger and cause more damage to my other reproductive organs, which would make the slim chance turn to no chance.  She said she would never tell a patient that could never conceive because miracles can happen and if I did get pregnant I would have to come in right away to run tests and ultra sounds to determine where the baby was.  If it is another ectopic, they would need to remove it right away so it won’t burst the tube.  My mind is reeling at this moment.  We may have to start trying soon if we want to have any chance at all?  What?  If I get pregnant, I won't even be able to enjoy it because I'll be so stressed that it is an ectopic and if it is I may have to go through all of this emotional let down again? 
I don’t think I could handle this again so soon or at all.  But the thought of us never being able to bring a child into this world the natural way is such a painful feeling I can’t put it into words.  I thought I was okay with adopting.  In fact, yesterday my sister-in-law and I were just talking about us adopting and I was so excited and so hopeful, but today I feel hopeless.  I think it is because reality is starting to set in that we may never have our own children.  I have been hanging on to that sliver of hope that someday we will, but there has to be a time where I let that go.  I don’t know how long that will take, but this is all still so new.  It’s only been 2 weeks since I found out of my infertility issues, but for some reason I am convinced that I have to be super women and be okay and moved on by now.  On top of all this, after we left the doctor’s office, we went to our post office box to check our mail and there was a stack of medical bills in there from my surgery.  Before, I was hopeful that the means would be provided for us financially, but after opening one bill after another and seeing each total in the thousands, my heart sank even further.  Tomorrow will be a better day, but tonight I just want to sit in a dark corner and curse at the wall. (Very un-mormon like I know, but it's the truth.)

Posting

Before I started this blog I posted my infertility feelings on my personal blog, so I am going to copy some of them over to this one.  So if you are following both my blogs, postings that are posted on both blogs will have an *asterisk* at the end of the post title.

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Our Story

I am sure our story starts like everyone else’s.  My husband and I met at Institute (bible study, for those who don’t know), fell in love, got married, and thought we would ride off into the sunset to live happily ever after.  We have been married for six years and in those six years; of course, we talked about starting a family.  For me, it was never the right time.  I wanted to be married for at least five years before we had our first child because I wanted to make sure my hubby and I had time to ourselves first while we were young.  I wanted to have a college degree.  I wanted to be financially stable, emotionally prepared, spiritually overloaded, etc, etc, etc.  The list went on.  As we hit our five year anniversary and we were no where I thought we should be in our life to have children, I realized there is NEVER going to be a right time according to the unrealistic standards that I set.  I was baby hungry and tried to convince myself that we weren’t in the right circumstance to have children, but Heavenly Father had a plan and I listened to the Spirit and my husband and I started trying.  It was no easy task.  We had one issue after another health wise trying to conceive.  And when I say health wise, I don’t mean either of us having any health issues that would indicate that I could not have kids.  It had been about a year of trying and nothing.  Our six year anniversary came and still no baby.  We prayed and fasted and the month after our anniversary (so this November 2010) I found out I was pregnant.  When I found out, I couldn’t believe it.  I was in shock.  I was thrilled.  It felt like a miracle. (At this point, we had no had idea how much of a miracle it was.)
The day I found out, I had a million emotions running through my head.  I went to the doctor to confirm my pregnancy and then went on a mission to find a creative way to tell my hubby.  I must mention that I have dreamed of this day ever since I was a little girl.  I wasn’t one that planned her wedding as a young gal, I was more excited about how I would tell my hubby, family, and friends I was pregnant.  Anyway, back to the story.  I told my hubby and he was more shocked than I was.  The look on his face after he figured out my clues and the moments afterward that we sat silently in joyful bliss was the best moment of my life.  All those days of wondering and dreaming how it would feel to say, “I’m pregnant!” and to share that special bond with my hubby was finally here and it was worth every second.
The week following the great news, we started to digest the fact that we were going to parents.  My husband started calling the baby “Peanut” and that is how we referred to it.  Well, my husband was convinced it was a girl, but of course I was too early for it to even be a boy or girl.  I was already attached.  I think as a women once you find out your pregnant, an instant bond is shared. 
My world came crashing down a week after discovering I was pregnant.   Early Sunday morning on December 5th, 2010 I woke up at two in the morning to use the bathroom.  My hubby was still up watching TV and as I used the restroom I saw blood.  I was groggy from just waking up, but as soon as I saw it, it was as if the wind had been knocked out of my stomach.  I couldn’t breathe.  I couldn’t move.  I knew it was bad.  It seemed like hours had passed before my husband walked in the room and saw me frozen and in shock.  That is when I started hyperventilating.  I sat down and started bawling.  During that time I started googling to see if I was having a miscarriage.  The signs I read online didn’t seem to indicate I was having a miscarriage and then I read that some women bleed during their first trimester and the baby still comes out fine.  That made me feel a little better.  My husband made me go to bed because after all it was 2 in the morning and what could we do.  I wasn’t in any physical pain.  So I tried to fall asleep, but the whole time I laid in bed I was so worried.  Somehow I feel asleep and when I woke up agonizing over the “what ifs” and the not knowing I started to have severe stomach pain.  I thought it was in my head and I tried to ignore it, but I knew I wasn’t making it up.  The pain would come and go, which made me hesitate in any further action such as going to the hospital.  But the paranoid first time mother in me decided on being cautious.  I asked my husband if we could go to urgent care and he asked if he could jump in the shower real quick.  I wasn’t in immense pain at the moment so I agreed and then I figured I should probably get ready, too.  While I was showering the emotional reality of it all got the best of me and tears just came.  That didn’t last too long because the worst stomach pain I have ever felt hit me.  I couldn’t stand up.  I made it out of the shower and laid on the floor.  I knew at that moment something was very wrong.  It lasted a few minutes and then it went away.  I got up and prayed and prayed to Heavenly Father to help protect the baby.  That he would bless that he/she would be okay.  That we would still be able to have a healthy baby in August. 
We got to urgent care and we got in right away.  As soon as we got back to the room, the nurse said, “I didn’t want to say this to you out in the waiting area for privacy reasons, so I brought you back here.”  I knew at the moment they weren’t going to be able to help me.  She told us of the possible scenarios that could be happening and that urgent care had no equipment that could help me determine the cause of my problems.  She urged me to go the Emergency Room and my hubby and I looked at each other knowing that the ER is extremely expensive.  As we walked out she asked me if were going to the ER and I said, “I think so.”  She stopped me and convinced me to go.  She said her sister had an ectopic pregnancy and almost died from it and that although the ER is expensive that it does not outweigh the cost of my life.
Off to the ER we went.  At the ER, the doctor told me what tests he was going to run in order to determine what was going on.  He said first a pelvic exam and then if necessary an ultra sound.  My pelvic exam turned out to be just fine which made me anxious to be released to go home with a diagnosis of a “threatened miscarriage” and excited for my return back to the hospital in 9 months.  However, the doctor ordered an ultra sound.  The ultra sound took a really long time and the technician kept coming in and out the room and doing more images, which at the time I should have known was a bad sign, but I was so tired of being at the ER for so long that at this point I didn’t think anything of it.  As I was being rolled down the hall to the ER wing of the hospital I saw my doctor coming towards my gurney where he gave me the news.  I had an ectopic pregnancy.  The baby was growing in my left fallopian tube and not in my uterus.  He said the ultra sound showed blood in my abdomen and that I would have to have surgery right away.  He had called a surgeon in to take over my case.  At this point, I was still naive; I didn’t understand what an ectopic pregnancy was and still believed I would still have this baby.  The surgeon arrived and explained everything.  She said there is no way to save the baby.  There isn’t a way to take the baby and put it in the uterus.  Science has not yet seemed to figure out this procedure.  She indicated that the chance for me to have another ectopic was high because I had already had one, but she has had many other women go on to have healthy babies even after an ectopic.  This gave me hope.  She told my husband that if everything went according to plan the surgery would take an hour at the most. Two and a half hours later Jake finally heard from her with news that the surgery ended up being more complex than anticipated.  She explained that as the baby grew in my fallopian tube it got too big and it busted the tube.  This is the reason why I had internal bleeding.  She said that there was over half of liter of blood that she removed out of my stomach and that she had to remove the left fallopian tube.  She continued to explain that she discovered that I had severe endometriosis and that she had spent an hour trying to remove as much scar tissue as she could.  She was unable to get it all and said that because of the endometriosis my right fallopian tube is badly damaged.  This means that if we were lucky enough to get pregnant again, it is highly likely that it would end up being an ectopic pregnancy as well.  She said it was a miracle we got pregnant in the first place and if we wanted to have kids in the future, that in vitro fertilization would possibly be the only option.
I was devastated to find out that the possibility for us to conceive a baby to full term was slim.  After all of the hoping and praying that the Lord would entrust us with taking care of one of his children we thought our prayers were finally answered.  I thought we had faced the biggest hurdle, which was getting pregnant.  I was prepared that day to face a miscarriage and I can accept being diagnosed with endometriosis.  What I was not prepared and still can’t believe is that in vitro is our only option now.  Game-changer.  Knowing that we have to start all over again, I can only describe the feeling as heart aching.
The days after the surgery were a blur to me.  It didn’t help that I was on painkillers which made me drowsy.  I was sad that we had lost our baby, but the reality of the situation had not truly dawned on me.   I kept waiting for the anger to set in, but that first week it didn’t.  I remember being so focused on how we would pay for in vitro and trying to plan it all out.  I wanted a baby so bad that I carried and looked like us, but my plan and Heavenly Father’s plan is not always the same.  A few days after surgery I prayed, which I am sad to admit was the first time I prayed after that awful day.  I am not exactly sure what the purpose of that prayer was, but a very clear firm voice said to me, “In vitro is not going to work.  I told you to adopt.”

Friday, January 7, 2011

Dear Blog World,

This is completely not like me to share my private thoughts and feelings to complete strangers, let alone people I do know personally.  However, I decided to start this blog as a way of coping with infertility.  Four weeks ago, I found out that we couldn't have kids the natural way. During those four weeks the only solace I found was through other blogs on infertility and adoption.  Thank you for those who are willing to be so open, so that others may be comforted.  So if you are reading this because you need comfort I hope you find some and I am so sorry that you need comfort because you can't have what everyone else can.